

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 22, 2019 (Silver Spring, MD)

Contact: Jackie Roberts – NASUCA President Elect, (304) 558-0526,

JRoberts@cad.state.wv.us

or David Springe – NASUCA Executive Director, (785) 550-7606,

david.springe@nasuca.org

NASUCA Presents Service Awards at its 2019 Annual Meeting

Silver Spring, MD – At its 2019 Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas the National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates (NASUCA) presented the following awards recognizing service and dedication to NASUCA, its membership and the consumers NASUCA members represent.

NASUCA Service Award*

- Keishaa Austin Office of People's Counsel Washington DC DER Committee Chair -3 years
- Craig Graziano Iowa Office of Consumer Advocate
 Consumer Protection Committee Chair 12 years

NASUCA Irwin "Sonny" Popowsky Outstanding Service Award**

- Elin Swanson Katz Former Connecticut Consumer Counsel NASUCA President and Executive Committee
- Mark Schuling Iowa Consumer Counsel
 NASUCA President and Executive Committee
- Tanya J. McCloskey Pennsylvania Consumer Advocate
 NASUCA Executive Committee

NASUCA Spotlight Award***

 Hon. Maida J. Coleman – Commissioner, Missouri Public Service Commission, Chair -NARUC Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest

^{*} The NASUCA Service Award recognizes those who have volunteered service in support of NASUCA.

** The Irwin "Sonny" Popowsky Award, NASUCA's second highest award, recognizes outstanding service and leadership in support of NASUCA. Irwin "Sonny" Popowsky was the Pennsylvania Consumer Advocate for 22 years and worked in the office for over 30 years. He served for a number of years as Chair of the NASUCA Electric Committee Chair. He then served on the NASUCA Executive Committee, served as NASUCA Secretary and Vice-President and eventually served as the President of NASUCA from 1996-1998.

*** The NASUCA Spotlight Award was created to recognize and put a spotlight on individuals from outside of NASUCA that have made key contributions to NASUCA, its members and to the utility consumers NASUCA members represent. This year the award recognizes Hon. Maida J. Coleman for her dedication to utility consumers as both Chair of the NARUC Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest and for her efforts leading a year-long joint engagement between NARUC and NASUCA focused on identifying best practices to reduce utility disconnections and reduce bill delinquencies and to identify the types of data that should be collected to support such efforts. The effort resulted in a policy resolution on data collection passed by both NARUC and NASUCA at their respective 2019 Annual Meetings.

NASUCA is a voluntary association of 58 consumer advocate offices in 43 states, the District of Columbia, Jamaica, Puerto Rico and Barbados, with Associate and Affiliate members that also represent utility consumer interests. NASUCA's members are designated by the laws of their respective jurisdictions to represent the interests of utility consumers before state and federal regulators and in the courts. For more information, please see http://nasuca.org/.